West Palm Beach, Florida, DUI and Traffic Violations Defense Lawyers

Charged with a DUI (driving under the influence)?  Contact the Law Office of Morse & Morse, L.L.C. today.

DUI and DUI manslaughter charges are extremely serious and can carry severe penalties upon conviction. If you have been charged with a DUI or DUI related crime, contact the experienced and skilled attorneys at Morse & Morse, L.L.C. in West Palm Beach, Florida.

Our legal team consists of attorneys who are knowledgeable in the Florida DUI laws. They use their effective skills to scrutinize police reports, challenge Breathalyzer results, and file appropriate motions to suppress evidence. Contact us today to learn more about your options from a skilled attorney.

Aggressively Defending Your Rights

The attorneys also handle all DUI and drunk driving related offenses including:

  • DUI
  • DUI Manslaughter
  • Boating Under the influence (BUI)
  • Underage Drinking

When you hire the experienced team of attorney at Morse & Morse, L.L.C. you also receive the benefit of a network of professionals, including accident reconstruction experts, breath/alcohol experts, and private investigators. Your case is individually reviewed by the DUI attorneys at Morse & Morse, L.L.C. who design a defense strategy specifically tailored to your case.

Is Your Driver’s License Going To Be Suspended?

If you have been arrested for DUI and you refuse to take a breath, blood and/or urine test, or if your test results were 0.08% or above, you only have 10 days to request a special hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to save your driver’s license from being suspended. If you do not request this special hearing, your driver’s license may be suspended from 6 – 18 months.

To discuss your specific case, situation and needs, contact a DUI lawyer at Morse & Morse, L.L.C. today.

316.193. Driving under the influence; penalties
(1) A person is guilty of the offense of driving under the influence and is subject to punishment as provided in subsection (2) if the person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state and:

(a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth in s. 877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893, when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired;

(b) The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or

(c) The person has a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.

(2)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), subsection (3), or subsection (4), any person who is convicted of a violation of subsection (1) shall be punished:

1. By a fine of:

a. Not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for a first conviction.

b. Not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 for a second conviction; and

2. By imprisonment for:

a. Not more than 6 months for a first conviction.

b. Not more than 9 months for a second conviction.

3. For a second conviction, by mandatory placement for a period of at least 1 year, at the convicted person’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device approved by the department in accordance with s. 316.1938 upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license. The installation of such device may not occur before July 1, 2003.

(b) 1. Any person who is convicted of a third violation of this section for an offense that occurs within 10 years after a prior conviction for a violation of this section commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. In addition, the court shall order the mandatory placement for a period of not less than 2 years, at the convicted person’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device approved by the department in accordance with s. 316.1938 upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license. The installation of such device may not occur before July 1, 2003.

2. Any person who is convicted of a third violation of this section for an offense that occurs more than 10 years after the date of a prior conviction for a violation of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than $2,000 or more than $5,000 and by imprisonment for not more than 12 months. In addition, the court shall order the mandatory placement for a period of at least 2 years, at the convicted person’s sole expense, of an ignition interlock device approved by the department in accordance with s. 316.1938 upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license. The installation of such device may not occur before July 1, 2003.

3. Any person who is convicted of a fourth or subsequent violation of this section, regardless of when any prior conviction for a violation of this section occurred, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

322.34. Driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified
(1) Except as provided in subsection (2), any person whose driver’s license or driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked, except a “habitual traffic offender” as defined in s. 322.264, who drives a vehicle upon the highways of this state while such license or privilege is canceled, suspended, or revoked is guilty of a moving violation, punishable as provided in chapter 318.

(2) Any person whose driver’s license or driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked as provided by law, except persons defined in s. 322.264, who, knowing of such cancellation, suspension, or revocation, drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of this state while such license or privilege is canceled, suspended, or revoked, upon:

(a) A first conviction is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(b) A second conviction is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(c) A third or subsequent conviction is guilty of a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

782.071. Vehicular homicide
“Vehicular homicide” is the killing of a human being, or the killing of a viable fetus by any injury to the mother, caused by the operation of a motor vehicle by another in a reckless manner likely to cause the death of, or great bodily harm to, another.

(1) Vehicular homicide is:

(a) A felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

(b) A felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, if:

1. At the time of the accident, the person knew, or should have known, that the accident occurred; and

2. The person failed to give information and render aid as required by s. 316.062.

At Morse & Morse, L.L.C., in Palm Beach County, Florida, we dedicate our practice to defending the rights of the accused. From our office in West Palm Beach, Florida, our attorneys accept clients throughout Florida.

Contact Morse & Morse, L.L.C. today to schedule a free consultation with an attorney to confidentially discuss your DUI charge.

Experience you need, results you want.