Like all other states, Florida has established guidelines that dictate the severity of theft and its corresponding penalties. Consequences can include fines, probation or imprisonment, depending on the specific charges filed against the person.
Types of theft, ranging from petty theft to burglary, fall under the crime of larceny, and the value of the stolen property determines the severity of the offense. For instance, if an individual steals property worth more than $750 or $300 in property owned by emergency medical services or law enforcement, they could be charged with grand theft.
A conviction for grand theft is a felony, carrying a potential sentence of up to 30 years in prison, along with substantial fines. Offenders may also be required to serve probation, do community service and pay restitution to the victim, so crafting a strong criminal defense could become important.
How theft is defined in Florida
Florida Statute 812.014 outlines grand theft as intentionally taking or attempting to take another person’s property to deprive the victim of the property or its benefits for personal gain. The severity of the punishment depends not only on the value of the stolen property but also on the type and manner of theft.
The offense of grand theft can range from a third-degree to a first-degree felony. In Florida, the statute of limitations for grand theft is five years. In addition to imprisonment, an offender convicted of grand theft may face fines of up to $10,000.
Third-degree grand theft involves stealing property worth between $750 and $20,000 including firearms, controlled substances, farm animals and fire extinguishers. Meanwhile, first-degree grand theft is stealing property worth over $100,000 or causing property damage exceeding $1,000 during the theft. Accusations of grand theft can be a life-altering and stressful experience. A conviction can result in severe consequences.